Artist: David Fray
Title: Chopin
Year Of Release: 2017
Label: Erato - Warner Classics
Genre: Classical
Quality: 24bit-88.2kHz FLAC
Total Time: 68:24
Total Size: 956 MB
Frédéric Chopin (1810-1849)
01. Nocturne No. 2 in E-Flat Major, Op. 9 No. 2
02. Nocturne No. 13 in C Minor, Op. 48 No. 1
03. Nocturne No. 16 in E-Flat Major, Op. 55 No. 2
04. Mazurka No. 41 in C-Sharp Minor, Op. 63 No. 3
05. Nocturne No. 18 in E Major, Op. 62 No. 2
06. Mazurka No. 11 in E Minor, Op. 17 No. 2
07. Polonaise No. 7 in A-Flat Major, Op. 61 "Polonaise-fantaisie"
08. Nocturne No. 15 in F Minor, Op. 55 No. 1
09. Nocturne No. 14 in F-Sharp Minor, Op. 48 No. 2
10. Impromptu No. 3 in G-Flat Major, Op. 51
11. Nocturne No. 10 in A-Flat Major, Op. 32 No. 2
12. Waltz No. 9 in A-Flat Major, Op. 69 No. 1 "The Farewell Waltz "
13. Mazurka No. 40 in F Minor, Op. 63 No. 2
Chopin's music had been absent from Fray's active repertoire for some 15 years before he recorded this recital, which comprises seven of the composer's nocturnes, three mazurkas, a polonaise, a waltz and an impromptu. When Fray talks about Chopin - who died in Paris in 1849 aged just 39, having exercised a transformative influence on the piano repertoire - it becomes clear that he sees the composer's work in archetypally Romantic terms: "For me, Chopin's music is very fragile, vaporous, perfumed . somewhat intangible. It is so fluid and evanescent - you need to feel that it could just disappear at any moment. What makes it so touching is this ephemeral quality - the mazurkas are like something that you write in the sand . You know that it will be washed away, but the memory will remain. His music palpitates with a sense of the unexpected, the inspiration of the moment. If you tried to engrave it into marble, it would die."